Krzysztof Kieślowski Film School      |


Kieślowski Film School recently hosted two interesting events.

On Tuesday, a panel discussion titled "Orthodox - Unorthodox: The Reality of Casting and Production in the Middle East" featured two experienced casting directors, Esther Kling from Israel and Piotr Bartuszek from Poland.

🎬 After the discussion, two-day film workshops started, which enabled our students to work under the supervision of experienced casting directors on specially prepared scripts. Dr. Anna Huth coordinated the event. Lena Góra, a Polish actress known for her roles in Roving Woman and Pierwszy taniec w chmurach (Translation: First Dance in the Clouds), attended one of the two-day workshops.

Esther Kling is a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and ICDA. She received an Emmy Award nomination for her casting work in the miniseries "Unorthodox". Esther has also won the German Academy of Television Arts (DAFF) Award for casting in "Unorthodox" and the Israel Film Academy Award for casting in "Asia". Since 2002, she has been casting for both films and television productions for the local and international markets.

Piotr Bartuszek has been associated with the film industry for twenty years. To date, he has assembled casts for over ninety films and series and collaborated on domestic and international productions. He is a member of the European Film Academy and the ICDA (member of the board). He is also a co-founder of the Polish Association of Directors and PCDG, which was founded in 2022.

We extend our gratitude to all students who attended the panel and participated in the workshops. In particular, we would like to thank Mrs. Esther Kling and Mr. Piotr Bartuszek, as well as the actors and students involved.

📸 We're featuring a few photographs from the event taken by Krzysztof Szlapa.












Cinema Room at the Kieślowski Film School. (Photo by: Krzysztof Szlapa)

We invite our dear students to a meeting with Irena Gruca-Rozbicka, a representative of Crew United Poland, which is a networking platform for the European film industry.

The meeting's topic is self-management and networking as tools for the career development of a young filmmaker. It will also cover aspects of working with an agent and a lawyer.

During the meeting, the Crew United communication platform will be made available to facilitate learning about the different possibilities of international networking.

All students, regardless of their fields, are cordially invited. Below, you will find the details of the meeting:

  • 16.10.2023
  • 10.00-11:30
  • Cinema Room (First Floor)


On Friday, October 6, we officially inaugurated the new academic year for 2023-2024 at the Kieślowski Film School.

We would like to thank everyone who participated in the event. It was due to your valuable presence that we're able to strengthen our sense of togetherness and pride as a part of the University of Silesia community.

We were honored with the presence of many distinguished individuals, including Prof. Ewa Jarosz, Vice-Rector for Staff Development; Prof. Janusz Janeczek, who held the position of Rector of the University of Silesia from 2002 to 2008; Prof. Andrzej Kowalczyk, Rector of the University of Silesia from 2016 to 2020; Prof. Leszek Drong, who serves as Vice-Dean for Research Affairs; and Dr. Małgorzata Tyrybon, the Vice-Dean for Education and Student Affairs.

During the ceremony, many distinguished individuals delivered addresses, including Prof. Dr. Krystyna Doktorowicz, who serves as the Dean of the Film School; Prof. Dr. Ewa Jarosz; and Maria Magdalena Jeziorowska, representative of the student council. Moreover, we had the privilege of listening to Prof. Dr. Ingmar Villqist deliver his inaugural lecture, titled "Illusion as Real: Film, Stage, and Radio Theater Scripts."

The matriculation of students was conducted by Prof. Dr. Jerzy Łukaszewicz, Vice Dean for Science and Artistic Creation.

We invite you to view the photographs from the event taken by Krzysztof Szlapa, available on our social media profile (link).

Kadr z Herstory reż. Tomasz Stuleblak

The 14th edition of the Kamera Akcja Festival will feature two short films from our production!

🎬 Herstory | directed by Tomasz Stuleblak | cinematography by Daniel Le Hai & Jan Barszczewski | prod management by Dorota Chłapek, Aleksandra Gajdosz & Weronika Podgórska

This short film has been qualified for the international competition titled Authors Spotlight. As a part of the competition, the film will be presented on October 13, 2023, at the Cinema Museum in Łódź at 19:45.


Kadr z Wróg reż. Piotr Bieliński

🎬 Foe | director Piotr Bielinski | cinematography Jan Barszczewski | production management Aleksandra Gajdosz.

Directed by Piotr Bielinski, "Foe" was included in Authors Spotlight Extra (Block I) and will therefore be presented exclusively on the VOD platform (Think Film), available to festival participants on October 16, 2023, at 18:00.

A hearty congratulations to the teams and good luck!

The 14th Kamera Akcja Film Art Critics Festival is set to be held in Łódź from October 12 to October 15, 2023, and from October 16 to 19, 2023, on the VOD platform, Think Film.

The festival information can be found at the following: link


"The Peasants", the 2023 film directed by DK Welchman and Hugh Welchman, is Poland's Oscar candidate

As it turns out, it's good news for us because a few graduates and a student of Kieślowski Film School have worked on it. Mateusz Kordyl was the second unit director, whereas Karolina Durak was the assistant director. Julia Maisa, Patrycja Kurpiers, Aneta Ługowska, and Małgorzata Turek (currently a student of the film school) worked on the film's production.

Congratulations to everyone!

The film, based on Władysław Reymont's novel, is produced by Hugh Welchman, Sean M. Bobbitt, and Tomasz Wochniak. The Polish Film Institute played a huge role in the actualization of the film, as it subsidized its production. Kamil Polak, Radoslaw Ładczuk, and Szymon Kuriata handled the cinematography. Its Polish premiere will be held on October 13, 2023.