Krzysztof Kieślowski Film School      |


Prof. Krzysztof Lang, a lecturer at the Kieślowski Film School, has won the award for the Best Feature Film at the 13th Ekran Toronto Polish Film Festival 2022 for the film “March 1968” (2022). The prize was awarded by a jury composed of Ottie Lockey, Larry Anklewicz, Anne Marie Perrault, Paulina Lyskawa, Małgorzata P. Bonikowska, Butch Kaplan, and Katie Uhlmann. Prof. Lang also received the Canadian Polish Business Association Award. The 13th edition of the Toronto Polish Film Festival took place on November 16-20, 2022, in Toronto, Canada.

Four etudes produced at the Kieślowski Film School also participated in the film festival:

  • "Mother's Day" (2021), director: Patryk Kaflowski // cinematography: Patryk Roman // production management: Katarzyna Bielińska, Konrad Petrenko-Goljanek
  • "Funeralia" (2022), director: Bartłomiej Błaszczyński // cinematography: Daniel Le Hai // production management: Alicja Osiej
  • "Forever" (2021), director: Aleksandra Kamińska // cinematography: Aleksandra Kamińska // production manager: Marta Nowak
  • "Slave" (2021), director: Grzegorz Piekarski // cinematography: Antoni Grałek // production management: Natalia Pietsch, Maja Zaleska, Grzegorz Piekarski, Antoni Grałek

Ekran Toronto Polish Film Festival is an annual, week-long event dedicated to the promotion of Polish cinematography and film production, focusing on the Canadian Polish community and Canadian filmmakers with Polish roots and heritage. The festival is held at the Revue Cinema, the oldest movie theater in Toronto, located in the heart of Roncesvalles Village.

Photo Krzysztof Szlapa / SFKK

The staff and students at Kieślowski Film School were delighted to welcome Sir Roger A. Deakins, the renowned, Oscar-winning cinematographer, on November 23, 2022. He was accompanied by his wife, James Ellis Deakins, who has supported Deakins in his creative activities for several decades. Deakins is a two-time Oscar winner for his outstanding cinematography for the films “1917” (2019), directed by Sam Mendes, and “Blade Runner 2049” (2017), directed by Denis Villeneuve.

Deakins started working on feature films such as “1984” and “Sid and Nancy” (1986) in the mid-1980s. After “The Woman in the Moon” (1988), he teamed up with the Coen Brothers for “Fargo” (1996) and “O Brother, Where Art Thou?” (2000) and worked with Frank Darabont on “The Shawshank Redemption” and with Martin Scorsese on the biopic “Kundun” (1997), all of which were nominated for an Academy Award for Best Cinematography.

Over the following decades, Deakins’ reputation was reinforced by his cinematography in films such as “Courage Under Fire” (1996), “Thirteen Days” (2000), and “A Beautiful Mind” (2001). His involvement in low-budget initiatives such as “The Secret Garden” (1993) or “Anywhere But Here” (1999) did not go unnoticed. Deakins also collaborated with the Coen brothers on “The Man Who Wasn’t There” (2001), “Intolerable Cruelty” (2003), and “The Ladykillers” (2004).

Deakins has won five BAFTA Awards for Best Cinematography and received several Oscar nominations. He has garnered fifty-eight nominations and many awards over the course of his career.

Roger A. Deakins and James Ellis Deakins are in Katowice in connection with the exhibition “Byways / Bezdroża,” organized as part of the XXXI Festiwal Ars Cameralis. The exhibition’s opening will take place on November 25 at 18:00 at Rondo Sztuki, Katowice.


The film “Shreds” (2022), directed by Prof. Beata Dzianowicz, a lecturer at Kieślowski Film School, has received the main prize, Golden Teeth of Camera for the Most Interesting Fiction Film at the 34th Polish Film Festival in America Awards (PFFA). Additionally, Dr. Krzysztof Lang received the President’s Award for Fiction Film for his film “March ’68” (2022).

“Sonata,” directed by Bartosz Blaschke, a graduate of the Kieślowski Film School, is also among the festival winners. “Sonata” received awards for Best Debut Film and Special Jury Award to Fiction Film.

The complete list of winners of the 34th Polish Film Festival in Chicago can be found here: link

In the short film categories, three etudes produced at the Kieślowski Film School competed for prizes:

  • “The Nest” (2021), director: Gracjana Piechula // cinematography: Aleksandra Kamińska // production management: Julia Wasiak
  • “Musical Chairs” (2022), director: Rafał Waraczewski // cinematography: Adam Pietkiewicz // production management: Adam Kiełbasa, Piotr Chyliński, Liwia Dzierżawa
  • “Liberty” (2021), director: Joanna Różniak // cinematography: Łukasz Łatanik // production manager: Maria Kawalec

PFFA is the largest annual film event promoting Polish films abroad. The festival enjoys an excellent reputation in the local and international media. The New York Times considers the PFFA one of the five most crucial European cinema festivals in North America, and The Chicago Tribune calls the event a Chicago success story. The 34th edition of the Polish Film Festival in America took place from November 5 to 20 in Chicago.

„The Hero” / photo Igor Połaniewicz

Directed by Milena Dutkowska and produced at the Kieślowski Film School, "The Hero" (2021) received distinction at the 1st edition of the Bana Film Festival, Pleszew. The winners were selected by the festival audience.

"The Hero", tells the story of Cyprian - a 10-year-old orphan who dreams of becoming a real hero. Igor Połaniewicz handled the cinematography, and Ernest Małkiewicz was responsible for the production management. Prof. Filip Bajon supervised the production. The film was produced by Prof. Krystyna Doktorowicz.

The 1st edition of the Bana Film Festival took place on November 18-19, 2022, in Pleszew. This nationwide competition aims to popularize the art of film, distinguish films of high artistic value, and promote independent creativity, including the work of local artists.

„Windows” / photo Julia Dziworska

“Windows” (2022), a documentary film directed by Julia Dziworska and produced at the Kieślowski Film School, is one of the winners of the 10th edition of the Fresh Form Film Festival in Warsaw, a competition for amateur and semi-professional short films. The prize was awarded by a jury composed of Józef Pawłowski, Renata Dobrowolska-Kryczek, Maciej Pieprzyca, and Anna Gryszkówna.

"Windows" is a chronicle made during a strict lockdown, depicting the lives of the residents of apartment blocks in Warsaw from the perspective of their balconies and windows during the pandemic. The cinematographer for the film is Julia Dziworska, and Prof. Paweł Chorzępa supervised the production. The film was produced by Prof. Krystyna Doktorowicz.

The 10th edition of the Fresh Form Film Festival took place on November 18, 2022. The organizer of the project is XXXVII LO Jarosław Dąbrowski, Warsaw.